Ice Hockey Rules Interpretations - 2020-21

By NFHS on October 27, 2020 ice hockey Print

Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.

Dr. Karissa L. Niehoff, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2020

NOTES: New “State Association Adoptions” chart on page 78.

SITUATION 1: Does Rule 3-8 permit the use of any electronic devices during a game? RULING: Yes. Electronic devices may be used by team personnel on the bench or between periods for coaching purposes only, provided that communication does not occur with on-ice players or goalkeepers during play. Such devices may not be used in any manner for discussions with officials. (3-8)

SITUATION 2: An infraction calling for a penalty shot occurs shortly before the end of a period. Play continues until time has expired in that period. Is the penalty shot taken? RULING: Yes. The infraction occurred prior to expiration of time in that period. The same ruling would apply if this was an Awarded Goal situation - the goal is counted. (4-7-1)

SITUATION 3: While approaching the goalkeeper during a penalty shot attempt, a player rotates his body in a full circle, retaining possession of the puck, and scores on the resulting shot. RULING: No goal. Once the player fails to maintain forward progress toward the goal, the penalty shot terminates. (4-7-4)

SITUATION 4: A player strikes an opponent in the head area once with a closed hand. The official does not consider this to be fighting. Can a minor penalty for unnecessary roughness be assessed? RULING: No. This is direct contact to the head and must be penalized under Rule 7-6-2, requiring either a major penalty or a game disqualification. (7-17-1)